Skip to content

Award named for founder presented

Click on image to see full version

(Indianapolis, Ind.) – Holladay Properties was a proud sponsor of the Indiana NAIOP Third Annual University Challenge, which took place on March 7th. Holladay Partner and Sr. Vice President-Development, Chris Wilkes presented the Wally F. Holladay Entrepreneurial Excellence Award to the winning team, Indiana State University.

In honor of Holladay Properties’ founder, the Wally F. Holladay Entrepreneurial Excellence Award will be awarded each year to the winner of the Indiana NAIOP University Challenge, a case competition that this year comprised of teams of students from Ball State University, Indiana University and Indiana State University. The plaque will be engraved with each year’s winner and will travel with each year’s winner to their home school.

This year’s event was held at the Conrad Hotel in Indianapolis where the competing teams of students were tasked with constructing an asset management and marketing plan to fill a half-full downtown Indianapolis office building. They were also asked to evaluate how Indianapolis compares with cities such as Nashville, St. Louis, and Cincinnati for a company looking to relocate. The students were given the opportunity to meet with some of the area’s real estate industry leaders as they explored the various stages of asset management, leasing and marketing.

The plaque, which Holladay provided, is engraved with an image of Wally and bears the inscription: “Establishing Holladay Properties in 1952 at the age of 32, Wallace (Wally) was the embodiment of a true entrepreneur. Wally’s commitment to excellence in design and development and his appreciation and passion of the entrepreneurial spirit made him a great leader and mentor to many. Wally’s generosity and vision will continue to be an inspiration to future generations.”

The event was also sponsored by the OPUS Foundation, who provided a $5,000 scholarship to the winning team from Indiana State University, comprised of seven real estate students. The team members were: Landon Curry, Ethan Kerstiens, Evan Magni, Allen McElderry, Sean Pepper, Andrew Smith, Stefan Sparks.

Share This Article